Five Levels of Agile Planning

The Five Levels of Planning are:

  1. Vision
  2. Roadmap
  3. Release
  4. Iteration (or Sprint)
  5. Daily

The top-level (Vision) represents the “big picture” of the overall effort. The planning at this level encompasses more strategic product information and fewer details on the product specifics. Working through to the bottom level, more details are included in the produced plans. In whole, the five levels of agile planning represent a holistic understanding of what we are building, why we are undertaking the effort and how we plan to deliver.

Related Resource: Scrum Overview & Planning Horizons

What’s Next?

Turn words into action by taking an introductory course in Agile. Check out our upcoming Certified ScrumMaster training courses.